An Overview of the Tequila Making Process

Tequila is a type of alcoholic beverage made from the blue agave plant, primarily grown in the area surrounding the city of Tequila, 65 km (40 mi) northwest of Guadalajara, and in the highlands (Los Altos) of the central Mexican state of Jalisco.

Tequila Making Process

Here is the process of making tequila:

  1. Harvesting and Cooking the Agave: The blue agave plant takes between 7 and 10 years to mature, after which it is harvested by jimadores, expert agave farmers. The jimadores remove the large leaves of the plant, leaving only the core, or piña, which is then chopped into smaller pieces. These pieces are then cooked, either in ovens or large autoclaves, to break down the tough fibers and convert the starches into sugar.

  2. Crushing and Fermentation: The cooked agave is crushed, either using a traditional tahona wheel or a more modern roller mill, to extract the juice. This juice is then mixed with water and yeast, and fermented for 2–7 days. During fermentation, the yeast consumes the sugar, producing alcohol and carbon dioxide.

  3. Distillation: The fermented juice is then distilled, typically in two stages. In the first stage, the liquid is heated in a large pot still, producing a rough, unrefined alcohol known as the “ordinario.” In the second stage, the ordinario is distilled again, this time in a smaller, more controlled still, to produce the final tequila product.

  4. Aging: After distillation, the tequila is usually aged in oak barrels for a period of time, depending on the desired outcome. For example, silver or blanco tequila is not aged, while reposado is aged for 2–12 months, añejo for 1–3 years, and extra añejo for more than 3 years. The aging process gives the tequila its distinct color and flavors, as well as smoothness.

  5. Bottling: Once the tequila has been aged to the desired flavor, it is then bottled and labeled for sale. Before bottling, the tequila is usually filtered to remove any impurities.

Types of Tequila:

  1. Blanco or Silver Tequila: Blanco, or silver, tequila is the unaged form of the beverage, and is bottled directly after distillation. It has a strong, crisp agave flavor, and is often used as a mixer in cocktails.

  2. Reposado Tequila: Reposado means “rested” in Spanish, and this type of tequila is aged for a minimum of 2 months and a maximum of 12 months in oak barrels. The aging process gives the tequila a smoother flavor and a golden color.

  3. Añejo Tequila: Añejo means “aged” in Spanish, and this type of tequila is aged for a minimum of 1 year and a maximum of 3 years in oak barrels. It has a rich, complex flavor and a deep amber color.

  4. Extra Añejo Tequila: Extra añejo tequila is aged for a minimum of 3 years, and has a smooth, velvety flavor and a dark, almost black color.

Quality of Tequila:

Tequila is regulated by the Mexican government, and to be considered true tequila, it must be made from at least 51 percent blue agave and produced in the designated regions of Jalisco and certain surrounding states. Additionally, high-quality tequila is made using traditional methods

Posted in Blog
Scroll to Top